CANBERRA BRIDGE CLUB INC ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 5.30pm Tuesday 25 September 2018

MINUTES

Pamela Crichton, President of the CBC, declared the meeting open at 5.30pm.

1. ATTENDANCE

John Brockwell, Kerry Butcher, Cathi Bywater, Pam Crichton, Bruce Crossman, Bev Crossman, Earl Dudley, Peter Giles, Peter Grant, Liz Havas, Richard Hills, John Hempenstall, Julia Hoffman, David Hoffman, Claire Hughes, Peter Kahler, Janet Kahler, Margaret Kyburz, Maureen Lipinski, Rick Nehmy, Roy Nixon, Ann Pettigrew, Sue Pillans, Anne Powell, Ian Robinson, Perelle Scales, Mary Tough, Lyn Turner, Miklos Tifan, Niek Van Vucht, Susan Walters, Sebastian Yuen

2. PROXY VOTES – none.

3. APOLOGIES

Ross Crichton, Larissa Cowlishaw, Ruth Gallagher, Keith Huggan, Lesley Gunson, Keith Mitchell, Patricia McDonald

4. CONFIRMATION OF THE MINUTES OF THE 2017 AGM

MOTION: That the minutes of the Annual General Meeting of 26 September 2017

be accepted as a true record of that meeting.

Moved: Claire Hughes Seconded: Mary Tough

CARRIED

5. MATTERS ARISING FROM THE MINUTES OF THE 2017 AGM

6. REPORT OF THE PRESIDENT

The President, Pam Crichton, tabled her report. After thanking the Committee, she praised all those who had volunteered for the benefit of CBC. The President made note of the excellent work of the Club's teaching cohort.

MOTION: That the President's report be accepted.

Moved: Sue Pillans Seconded: Peter Giles.

CARRIED

7. TREASURER'S REPORT – Val Carmody (in absentia)

MOTION: That the Financial Statements of the Canberra Bridge Club Inc, as

tabled, be adopted.

Moved: Earl Dudley Seconded: Perelle Scales

CARRIED

A vote of thanks for Val's work was proposed by Perelle Scales and seconded by Mary Tough.

Canberra Bridge Club AGM 2018

8. AUDITORS' REPORT

8.1 The Auditor's report on the Accounts for 2017-18 was tabled.

8.2 Appointment of Auditor for 2018-19

MOTION: That Nikki George of Christine Reid and Nikki George Pty Ltd, Accountants, be appointed as auditor for the Canberra Bridge Club Inc for 2018-19. Moved: Bruce Crossman Seconded: Peter Kahler CARRIED

9. REPORT OF THE TOURNAMENT SECRETARY

The Tournament Secretary, John Brockwell, tabled his report.

MOTION: That the Tournament Secretary's report be accepted.

Moved: Bruce Crossman Seconded: Ian Robinson

CARRIED

10. JOINING FEE REMAIN UNCHANGED

MOTION: That the 2018-2019 joining fee for the Canberra Bridge Club Inc be \$10 per annum (includes GST) except for concession members who will pay \$5, and that there will be no joining fee for full-time students under 25 and youth under 18 years.

Moved: Pam Crichton Seconded: Bruce Crossman

CARRIED

- **11. MOTION:** That the 2019 annual subscription to the Canberra Bridge Club Inc be \$80 per annum (includes GST) except for:
 - (i) Concession members, ie:
 - persons under the age of 18 years at 1 January 2019;
 - full-time students under the age of 25 years at 1 January 2019;
 - disability support or age pensioners;
 - persons who reside permanently more than 80 kilometres from the Canberra General Post Office; and
 - at the discretion of the Committee, other persons experiencing hardship,

who will pay \$35 per annum (includes GST), and

- (ii) Senior members, ie those over the age of 60 years at 1 January 2019, who will pay \$70 per annum (includes GST), and
- (iii) Persons who join after 30 June 2019 and before 1 October 2019, who, if paying full or seniors' rates, will pay half the relevant annual subscription for 2019, and, if paying concession rates, will pay \$30; and
- (iv) Persons who join after 30 September 2019, who will pay the full relevant annual subscription but whose membership will be valid until 31 December 2020.

Persons joining as non-home club members will be entitled to an additional deduction representing the affiliation fees paid to the ABF and BFACT.

Moved: Pam Crichton Seconded: Rick Nehmy

CARRIED

12. ELECTION OF OFFICE BEARERS & COMMITTEE MEMBERS

The AGM elected the following Committee:

а President: Pam Crichton b Vice-President: Ian Robinson Secretary: Susan Pillans С d Treasurer: Lyn Turner Tournament Secretary: John Brockwell е Committee Members: Patricia McDonald

Mary Tough
Richard Hills
Claire Hughes
Cathi Bywater
John Hempenstall
Margaret Kyburz
Perelle Scales

13 OTHER BUSINESS

13.1 **MOTION:** That CBC adopt Barnardos as its charity for 2019.

Moved: Pam Crichton Seconded: Sue Pillans

CARRIED

The incoming President, Pam Crichton, thanked the previous Committee and farewelled the outgoing Committee members, Val Camody, Trish Arnold and Neil Garvey.

Meeting closed at 5.45pm