
TIP OF THE WEEK 

The difference between PRE-ALERTS, ANNOUNCEMENTS and ALERTS 

 

A recent TIP OF THE WEEK (26 April) might have created some confusion, so let’s try 

again. 

 

Pre-alerts refer (i) to your system, (ii) to unusual conventions, and (iii) to unusual carding 

agreements.  After greeting a new pair when they come to your table (i) you should say for 

instance, “we play Standard, with 5-card majors, a 4-card diamond suit and 1C may be as 

short as 2; our 1NT is 15-18”.  (ii) if you play unusual conventions you should say for 

instance “our 2D opening is Multi; it is a weak two in hearts or spades”.  (iii) if your carding 

is normal, say so.  The Pre-Alerts period expires at the commencement of the auction on the 

first hand, and the Announcements and Alerts periods begin. 

 

Announcements are curiosities that are made during the auction despite the fact that you 

have already made the information available during the Pre-Alert period: (i) When partner 

opens 1NT, you should announce “12 to 15 hcp”, or whatever.  (ii) When partner opens 1C, 

you should announce “may be as short as 2 or 3”, or whatever. 

 

Alerts:  Long, long ago when I learnt bridge, it was a rule of thumb to alert any bid that the 

opponents might not understand.  Not much has changed.  The most significant change is the 

concept of self-alerting bids.  Self-alerting bids include: (i) all doubles & redoubles, (ii) a 

Stayman 2C after partner has opened 1NT, (iii) cue-bids of an opponent’s suit, (iv) any bid 

higher than 3NT ─ except bids of 4C or 4D that show suits other than club or diamonds.  (It 

is a silly thing to say but I’m going to say it anyway: “don’t alert a self-alerting bid”.)  

 

Please follow correct alerting procedure: (i) When partner bids something that the opponents 

might not understand, you should alert by saying “alert” and/or by placing an alert card 

alongside partner’s bid.  (Be sure that your opponents are aware of the alert.)  (ii) Don’t offer 

an explanation of the alerted bid unless asked.  (iii) When asked, it is not sufficient merely to 

name the convention; you should give a fuller explanation, e.g. “that is the unusual no-trump 

showing both minors”.  (iv) If asked about partner’s bid and you have no agreement, say so; it 

may be a good idea to call the director.  (v)  If asked about partner’s bid and you have 

forgotten your agreement, say so; and call the director.  (vi) It is a messy situation if partner 

gives the wrong explanation of your bid (see TIP OF THE WEEK, 19 April).  (vii) It is 

probably better to over-alert than to under-alert.  But it’s a fine line.  In the unlikely 

circumstance that an opponent objects to your concept of alerting, ask the director to rule.  

(viii) Should you, as a defender, wish to know something specific about the auction before 

playing to the first trick, you cannot ask a specific question; you must ask for an explanation 

of the entire auction. 

 

The Laws of Duplicate Bridge are extremely abstruse.  So don’t be dismayed if sometimes 

you are confused.  It happens to everyone.  (There are probably only a handful of people in 

the world who can confidently and correctly interpret every Law in the book.)  If you need 

further guidance, your best option is to consult Ian Robison or Sebastian Yuen.  They are both 

international-level directors, they both have a comprehensive knowledge of the Laws and 

their application, and both are amongst the most approachable people in the club.  Your 

second-best option is to send me an email.  I will respond as best and as quickly as I can. 

 

John Brockwell   <jbrockwell1430@gmail.com> 



 


